Prof. Ruth Arnon


arnon_400x495 Prof. Ruth Arnon

A world renowned immunologist who joined the Weizmann Institute of Science in 1960.

During her tenure she served as the head of the immunology department, head of the McArthur Institute for molecular biology of tropical diseases, Dean of the faculty of biology and Vice President of the Weizmann Institute. In addition she was president of the Israeli Biochemical Society, member of the steering committee for the World Health Organization, President of the European Federation of Immunological Societies and secretary of the International Organization of Immunology.

In 1991 she was elected a member of the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities and since 2010 she serves as president of the Academy, the first woman to serve in this position.

She was involved in the development of vaccines, cancer research and research on parasitic diseases. Together with Prof. Sela she worked on the development of Copaxone, a drug for multiple sclerosis.

In 1998 she received the Wolf Prize for immunological discoveries.

In 2001 she received the Israel Prize.

Major universities in Israel honoured her with doctorate degrees.

Prof. Ruth Arnon
Member of the EMET Prize Committee since 2010