Emet Prize Laureates

Mr Avraham B. Yehoshua

2016 Laureates of Emet Prize

In Category: Culture and Art
In Field: Hebrew Literature and Poetry

Avraham B. Yehoshua

Jury Statement

“The Emet Prize is awarded to the Author Avraham B. Yehoshua for his stories, plays and essays, which deal with Jewish existential meaning throughout the generations, and which serve as a unique, lucid and complex voice for all segments of Israeli society”


Author Avraham B. Yehoshua is a fifth generation Israeli, born in 1936 in Jerusalem. He served in the IDF in the Paratroopers Division and then studied Hebrew Literature and Philosophy at the Hebrew University. In 1963, he traveled to Paris with his wife, to pursue continuing studies. He served as the General Secretary of the World Union of Jewish Students for three years. After the Six Day War, he settled in Haifa, and from 1972 until his retirement taught at Haifa University in the Department of Hebrew and General Literature, first as a senior lecturer and then as a Full Professor. He also served as Visiting Professor from time to time at Princeton University and the University of Chicago in the U.S., as well at various European institutions in Paris and Rome.

Over the years he has written and published many stories and novels, as well as plays for Israeli theatre. He has also published essays on issues of identity and society, and on the relationship between literature and morality. His books have been translated into scores of languages and have been adapted for film, stage and opera. His major well known works include Facing the Forests, The Lover, A Late Divorce, Molcho, Mr. Mani, A Voyage to the End of the Millennium, The Liberated Bride, A Woman in Jerusalem, Friendly Fire, and most recently, The Extra. His well known plays include A Night in May, Possessions, and Can Two Walk Together? Among his essays, the best known works are A Plea for Normalcy, Homeland Grasp and The Terrible Power of a Minor Guilt. Many scholarly books have been written on his works, and two anthologies of articles have been dedicated to Mr. Mani and A Journey to the End of the Millennium.

His writings have won him many awards in Israel and worldwide, including: the Brenner Prize, the Alterman Prize, the Bialik Prize, the Israeli Booker Prize, based on the British Man Booker Prize (for Mr. Mani), the Neuman Prize and the Israel Prize. He has also been awarded numerous important prizes in Italy, Spain, France and the United States, as well as honorary doctorates from many universities in Israel and worldwide