Emet Prize Laureates

Prof. Noga Alon

Tel-Aviv University
2011 Laureates of Emet Prize

In Category: Exact Sciences
In Field: Mathematics

Combinatorics, Graph Theory and their applications

Prof. Noga Alon

Jury Statement

“One of the productive and influential mathematicians of our time, for his results and contributions in Combinatorics, Graph Theory and their applications in diverse areas of Mathematics and Theoretical Computer Science.”

Mile Stones

1956 נולד בחיפה.
1974 יצא ללימודי תואר בוגר במתמטיקה בטכניון.
1983 - 1985 אם. איי. טי.
1985 פרופסור מן המניין, אוניברסיטת תל-אביב.
1993 מופקד הקתדרה לקומבינטוריקה למדעי המחשב.
2006 ראש הוועדה המדעית של הקונגרס העולמי למתמטיקאים במדריד.
2008 חתן פרס ישראל למתמטיקה.
2009 חבר במעבדות המחקר של מייקרוסופט ישראל.


Was born in Haifa in 1956 and studied in the Reali School there.

In 1974 he joined the army as a member of the academic reserve and completed Cum Laude his BSc studies of Mathematics at the Technion. Returning to the army he served in the Intelligence Corps, where he has won the Israel Security Prize for one of his projects. During his service he completed his MSc studies at Tel Aviv University Cum Laude and his PhD studies at the Hebrew University.

In 1985, after two years of postdoctorate at MIT he joined the school of Mathematical Sciences of Tel Aviv University as a senior lecturer. In 1988 he became a full professor.

Since 1993 he is the incumbent of the Baumritter Chair for Combinatorics and Computer Science in the School of Mathematics and the School of Computer Science. Over the years he has been a visitor in several universities and research institutes in the world.

Since 2009 he is a member of Microsoft Research, Israel. His research accomplishments include the development of spectral techniques in the study of expander graphs and their applications, the development of sophisticated probabilistic and algebraic tools in the resolution of problems in Graph Theory and Additive Number Theory, the foundation of the active area of streaming algorithms, and the solution of central problems in Combinatorics, Combinatorial Geometry, Information Theory and Theoretical Computer Science. In his work he developed and applied novel and original combinatorial, algebraic and probabilistic tools.

He published more than 450 papers and has written and edited several books in his field. He served as the chair of the committee of the International Congress of Mathematicians in Madrid in 2006. His research accomplishments won him several prizes and honors. He received the Israel prize in Mathematics in 2008, the Goedel Prize of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), the Polya Prize of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM), the Landau Prize of Mifal HaPais, the Bruno Award of the Rothschild Foundation, the Feher Prize of the Jerusalem Institute and the Erdos Prize of the Israel Mathematical Union. He is also a member of the Israel Academy of Sciences and of the Academia Europaea.