Emet Prize Laureates

Prof. Moti Heiblum

Wiezmann Institute of Science
2013 Laureates of Emet Prize

In Category: Exact Sciences
In Field: Physics and Space-Physics

Condensed Matter Physics

Prof. Moti Heiblum

Jury Statement

“For his pioneering contribution to the understanding of condensed matter physics, and for his unique, pathbreaking studies of phase measurements in electron interference, the behavior of fractional charges, and the collapse of the quantum behavior of electrons in miniaturized electronic systems.”


Was born in Israel in 1947.

He received a BSc in Electrical Engineering (EE) from the Technion in 1973, and an MSc in EE from Carnegie-Mellon University, in 1974. After receiving his PhD from Berkeley University of California in 1978, he joined the staff of IBM Research Laboratories in Yorktown Heights, New York, where he later became Manager of the Microstructure Physics Group.

In 1990, after 17 years in the US, he returned to Israel to found and head the Braun Center for Submicron Research at the Weizmann Institute, founded and chaired the Department of Condensed Matter Physics, again chairing it from 2007 to 2012, and, in 2000, was appointed Alex and Ida Sussman Chair for Submicron Studies.

His primary research centers on the quantum behavior of electrons in miniaturized solid state devices, which operate in the mesoscopic regime (the gray area between classical and quantum behavior). His work has explored electron interference (wave behavior), shot noise due to the  granularity of electrons (particle behavior), and an apparent fractional (or even zero) charge of electrons when interacting in strong magnetic fields. His laboratory grew the world's purest semiconductor crystals.

Over the years, he served as a visiting scientist at the Technical University of Vienna, Stanford University and Hewlett Packard Research Laboratories in Palo Alto, California. He headed a national committee examining the state of the electronic industry in Israel. Beginning in 2001 he served as the Chairman of the Board of ORT Braude College and is now its Honorary Fellow.

He is an IEEE Life Fellow, APS Fellow, member of the Israeli Academy of Science and Humanities (2008), and recipient of the Rothschild Prize in Physics.