Emet Prize Laureates

Prof. Elchanan Helpman

Tel-Aviv University
2002 Laureates of Emet Prize

In Category: Social Sciences
In Field: Economics


Prof. Elchanan Helpman

Jury Statement

“For his pioneering work that significantly changed the face of research in the field of international economics and its connection to the issue of enduring growth and state economy.”


Prof. Elhanan Helpman was born in 1946 in Dzalabad, the former Soviet Union.

He holds a bachelor’s degree and master’s degree from Tel Aviv University and a PhD from Harvard University. Since 1974 he has been part of the faculty of Tel Aviv University, and since 1997 a member of the faculty of Harvard University.

Prof. Helpman deals mainly with the study of topics in international economics, and his most important contributions have been noted in the fields of foreign trade, economic growth and political economy. He is one of the founders of the new trade theory and new growth theory. He has published his most prominent findings in three books. 

He has also studied Israel’s economy, and was active in discussions on the economy in Israel as a member of the Bank of Israel’s advisory council, the National Council for Planning and Development, the National Council for Research and Development and the Bank Hapoalim board of directors.

He is incumbent of the Galen Stone Foreign Trade Chair at Harvard University, incumbent of the Archie Sherman International Economic Relations Chair at Tel Aviv University, and a fellow at the Canadian Institute of Advanced Research. In the past, he has served as a guest professor at universities and research institutes around the world. He is an editorial board member of various scientific journals and a fellow of the Econometric Society. He is also a member of the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities, a honorary foreign member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and an honorary foreign member of the American Economic Association. He has served as president of the Israeli Economic Association and president of the Econometric Society.

His research has won him the Israel Prize, the Rothschild Prize, the Mahalanobis Memorial Medal of the Indian Econometric Society, and the Bernhard-Harms Prize of the Kiel Institute for World Economics.