Emet Prize Laureates

Prof. Shlomo Avineri

Hebrew University of Jerusalem
2013 Laureates of Emet Prize

In Category: Social Sciences
In Field: Political Science and Strategy

Political Science and International Relations

Prof. Shlomo Avineri

Jury Statement

“For his path-breaking studies of the theories of Hegel and Marx as well as the varieties of Zionist thought, for his decisive contribution to the study of democracy and for his willingness to leave the academic ivory tower and enter the world of diplomacy and foreign policy.”


Was born in Bielsko, Poland, and came to Israel with his parents in 1939.

He received all his degrees at the Hebrew University – BA in History and Political Science (cum laude, 1956), MA in Political Science and History (summa cum laude, 1960) and PhD (1964).

For many years he studied European political theory, focusing on the thoughts of Hegel and Marx, as well as on Zionist thought and the processes of democratization in post-communist societies. His books have been translated into ten languages. At the Hebrew University he served as Chair of the Department of Political Science, Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences, founding director of the Eshkol Institute and director of the Center for European Studies. He held visiting appointments at many universities – among them Yale, Cornel, University of California, Oxford, Australian National University. He served as Fellow at some of the best research institutes abroad to which he was invited as one of the leading scholars of political theory, Zionist thought and democratic transformation.

In the last decade he is a recurring visiting professor in the Nationalism Program at the Central European University in Budapest and member of the European Academy of Arts and Sciences. During 1975-77 he served as Director-General of Israel's Ministry of Foreign Affairs. In the 1990's he participated in international commissions which accompanied the first democratic elections in Eastern European countries after the collapse of communism.
His studies have earned him many prizes and distinctions, among them the Rubin Prize (for his The Social and Political Theory of Karl Marx), the Peretz Naphtali Prize for Social and Economic Sciences, the American Jewish Committee Prize (for his The Making of Modern Zionism), the Israel Prize and the Life Award of the Israel Political Science Association. He is the holder of a doctor honoris causa from the Weizmann Institute, and also received decorations from the Italian President and the Senate of the Czech Republic. He is member of the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities.